Tax payment

DavidMcNab

I'm in Canada, although I don't think it matters. But I got notified by PayPal that they are now required to disclose earnings. I have a business account with PayPal. Personal accounts will be close behind.
I saw an accountant and he told me I can write off part of my mortgage because I have an actual office in my home. Probably everybody does, or could.
I can also provide receipts for travel and other expenses related to video production. Any electronics purchased that can be used for videos will help offset taxes.
In short, keep receipts for everything.
Also, make videos about everything you spend money on.

This is my first year as a creator. Im in a mild panic in as far as how to file. I dont want an accountant. My husband wants to use turbo tax as we did when I was a writer. But geez. This is diff and I have incomes coning in from Youtube etc. I wanted to, but I didnt save every single receipt of my expenses but I did log them all. I hope a log "counts" in some way when doing taxes as in the older days. I really had intended on being so careful with receipts but I really got lax and only have some. I got lax because so many of my purchases were on receipts along with personal items or in cash on the fly. Sigh. Lesson learned. It wont happen again.
Any advice in as far as filing taxes?

Tripwire

No I don't I am same as you , my first year doing it but i'm just highlighting the ones on my receipts,because they also have personal items on and putting them in a file and putting it down has expences hahah, anyone that can help ? would be much appreciated .

How do I list myself on the tax return? Am I small business (I don't know what that looks like to click on)? Whats more, I file jointly with my husband. I hope there is a way for me to still file joint but somehow file my video business as my own personal financial endeavor. I wish there was a how to video. :/

DavidMcNab